my team speaks !

“Neelathamara is my renewed Confidence” (Sreejith Guruvayur)

If I were to get the state level selection that I was sure in the 10th standard, I would have been on a cricket pitch instead of chiseling the faces of characters for the silver screen! Now look where I am and where is that school cricket team captain who could not think of anything other than Cricket!! That is Life….and I am more than happy about what I achieved than what I did not…

Neelathamara for me is the reiteration of confidence in my own craft and art, and that has been made possible by my mentor, director Lal Jose. He came to my life when I was going through the worst period both professionally and personally. And the film `Classmates’ gave me the spirit to pull ahead in life. Though some of you who read this may feel that what I say is very personal; Let me tell you, if anything is worth mentioning it is my association with this director and his courage to showcase new talents to the mainstream industry …

002

I was idling away my time after tenth as I was quite dejected with life. I used to be popular in and around my hometown as a growing cricket talent. My dreams progressed steadily as I was selected in school and won matches for school. I did not feel guilty of leaving important academic sessions for cricket as my school authorities promised that my plus two- admission is guaranteed. By some prejudice I was denied admission where I hoped to get in. My sporting talent was overlooked and I did not get any special preference…

003

One of my relatives who worked in films suggested that I could get some occupation in film industry and landed in the job of a make up assistant. I have been fortunate enough to get training under excellent craftsmen like Pattanam Rasheed and Pattanam Shah. Pattanam Rasheed gave me a clear idea about the creative contribution of a make up artist in the total process of film making..

004

When Lal sir called me to be in-charge of the make up department of `Mulla’ I was clear about what he expects from me. I was watching myself throughout the shooting of Mulla. At the time of preparations for Neelathamara, I knew that he has confidence in me but I have to deliver more than what he expects. The difficulty in my work is the lack of factual understanding about growth of make up industry outside Kerala and India. Very few people in our industry have the awareness of new techniques and technology in make up which is growing at a supersonic pace. Our industry is struggling hard to keep up with the changes outside as we spent very less amount of total film budget for new materials and techniques related to make up. Here in Neelathamara I have got the golden opportunity to practice my art and craft using newer materials and techniques. When you see the film you will come across same actors doing roles at the beginning and end of a time span of 30 years. I now wish to learn more to take up greater challenges. I wouldn’t mind trying for overseas training say for even a day … Don’t mistake my attitude!!! See… Neelathamara has done wonders to my level of confidence…!

19 responses

  1. Hey Sreejith,

    Its great to read your life after tenth and how did you come into this field…All the best for future endeavors !!!

    Regards,
    Ratheesh P D.
    Guruvayoor.

  2. Hi Sreejit
    you are a great person to be frank when sreedevi aunty was acting as the old lady i asked hari tirumala who was that and he told me it is a new artist who has come to act as the oldder verson of sree devi aunty and i belived it till ajitha told me it was yr creativity
    i am eagerly waiting fr the release of neelathamara
    wish you all the best fr your future and may you get good oppurtunity to learn more in your feild
    regds
    christy(aravindsamma)

  3. nice ideas …
    atleast we can see the old fashions and that days people’s interest
    and sreejith has done a wonderful jon throughout his career and wish him all the very best …

    with regards
    shameer.p.v
    Alumpady

  4. Hallo brother,

    we the whole family pray for you and your team members of Neelathamara for big success and convey my best wishes to Laljose and his crew.

  5. well done srijith.life sometimes takes quite a turn unexpectedly but it always lands us in the right shore.those who have seen the photos and posters are full of praise for talented young man.keep up the good work buddy.may neelathamara bring another award .all the very best

  6. Saw neelathamara inaugral show at padma. Wow! me and my friends had a great time there.. The hero and heroine of the movie ( Kailesh and Archana Kavi) was there for the show. Talking about the film…Lal Jose has done an excellent job, espcially the casting. Each artist is perfect for their roles. The newcomers, archana and Kailesh deserves an applause for their perfomance.The first half of the movie is mind blowing, reminds us the good old days of malayalam industry. Though the film seems to be incomplete, due to the absence of a strong climax, i’m sure that it will create hypes at box office

  7. hellow, sreejith

    love and greetings from fr. vineesh mathew, Delhi.
    i was just going through ur writing above. it is great and confidential. there is proverb, “man proposes God disposes.” longed to be a cricket player but end up in film. today film industry needs people like u , who are talented and brave. ur really fortunate to work with the great director lal jose sir. hope to see u in many more film as make up man. wish u all the best.

  8. great song…anuraaga vilochananaayee…a memorable one
    and congrats for the success of neelathaamara….
    All Best Wishes from me.As I ‘m a cinema admirer & want 2 learn more about this feild…any help!

  9. പ്രിയ സുഹ്ര്തെ ,

    വര്‍ഷങ്ങള്‍ക് ശേഷം ,സഹാപാടിയായും,നാട്ടുകാരനുമായ ,നിന്നെ നല്ല നിലയില്‍ കാണാന്‍ കഴിഞ്ഞതില്‍ സന്തോഷം , നീലതമാരയുടെ ടൈറ്റില്‍ മാക് അപ്പ്‌ ശ്രീ ജിത് ഗുരുവായൂര്‍ എന്ന് കണ്ടപ്പോള്‍ ആരാണെന്നറിയാന്‍ ഒന്ന് സെര്‍ച്ച് ചെയ്തതാണ് .ഒരു പാട് സന്തോഷം , കൂടുതല്‍ മികച്ച, ലോകം അറിയപെടുന്ന ഒരു മാക് അപ്പ്‌ മാനായി നീ ഉയരട്ടെ …
    .പ്രാര്‍ത്ഥനയോടെ ,

    ഫവാസ് മമ്മിയൂര്‍
    ഷാര്‍ജ .
    fawaztm@gmail.com

  10. Lal sir….. 1977 le VISHUKKANI enna film remake cheythukoode… orupadu naalathe aagrahamaanu aa film onnu kaananam ennu nadakkunnilla… please… onnu try cheythukoode…. njangalude orupadu perude aagrahamaanu please……………

Leave a Reply

